Lonsbury Memorial Scholarship Event

The J. Warren School of Information & Telecommunication Systems Advisory Board invites you to join us for a unique Athens experience while supporting students of our school. Attendees have an option of participating in a scramble golf tournament at the historic Athens Country Club or a zip-line excursion in the beautiful Hocking Hills. Following the events, participants will enjoy a reception and dinner on the OU Inn Patio. Transportation provided to and from each event.

2019 Event Itinerary:

Thursday, September 19th:

  • Thomas Lonsbury Memorial Scholarship Event –  Multiple Locations
    Event Itinerary:

    • Tournament shotgun start – 10:00am
      • $175 per participant
    • Zip-Line excursion departure – 11:00am
      • $175 per participant
    • Reception/Banquet – 6:00pm – 8:30pm
      • Included in participant fee
      • $100 – reception/banquet only

Venue information:

Golf Tournament Participants
Athens Country Club: Click to view
Zip-line Participants
Hocking Hills Canopy Tours: Click to view
Reception & Banquet
Ohio University Inn: Click to view

Please click to register or make payment as a participant or sponsor: Registration web site.

To register and pay with a check, download the 2019 Corporate Sponsor Form and/or the Tournament Registration Form.

In 2002, Thomas Lonsbury — an avid golfer and member of the Information and Telecommunication Systems Management Advisory Board — suggested that the board establish a scholarship for outstanding ITS students and fund it with the proceeds of a golf classic. The Board agreed and promptly named Lonsbury chair of the Advisory Board Thomas Lonsbury Scholarship Golf Classic.

Lonsbury chaired the event until his death in 2012. That year’s tournament was the first to be called the Lonsbury Memorial Scholarship Golf Classic. Advisory Board member Garon Gentzel has taken over leadership of the event, which continues to be a successful fundraiser.

During the 2019 ITS Day awards banquet the Advisory Board had the pleasure of awarding 4 outstanding students the Thomas Lonsbury Memorial Scholarship. Please join us in congratulating Coal Wells, Adam Maslowski, Chandler Egli, and Keaton Huffman as the recipients of the 2019-20 Thomas Lonsbury Memorial Scholarship.  This continues the trend of presenting more than two awards in the same year, which would not be possible without your generous support and that of over 150 annual contributors to our fund. The ITS Advisory Board thanks you for your support!

Proceeds from our event benefit the students of Ohio University J. Warren McClure School of Information & Telecommunication Systems. In the past 17 years, we have built an endowed fund of over $150,000 and presented 27 scholarships to worthy Ohio University ITS students. The students’ success depends on you! Whether you are a past tournament player, or a new potential sponsor or player, your participation will help provide support to a deserving ITS student.

Please click to register or make payment as a participant or sponsor: Registration web site.

To register and pay with a check, download the 2019 Corporate Sponsor Form and/or the  Tournament Registration Form


Garon Gentzel
2019 Tournament Chair and ITS Advisory Board Member

Follow Us

Latest Tweets

To Top