Courses include business and languages to mold well-rounded professionals. “The ITS classes are the basis of my career, and the marketing classes teach me how to network.” — Lori (Huber) Meierdiecks, BSC `11

Every business that wants to compete in the global information economy uses high-tech communication systems. Banks, oil companies, insurance firms, retail chains — none of these could operate without their communication networks.

McClure School students prepare for careers in this fast-growing industry. Jobs in the information and telecommunication systems field are projected to grow by up to 30 percent by 2020. If you want a career working with technology, but don’t want to major in engineering, this is the place for you.

Our students learn by doing, putting classroom education to the test in our hands-on labs and through internships. McClure alumni are frequent speakers and presenters, offering a real-world perspective that keeps our students up to date on industry trends. Our faculty are active researchers and consultants; all McClure faculty worked in the industry before entering academia.

Whether you seek a bachelor’s or master’s degree, the McClure School’s world-class program will give you the skills you need to succeed in this exciting industry.

Follow Us

Latest Tweets

Points of Pride

2018: Internet Pioneer Steve Crocker, member of the team that developed the first protocols for the ARAPANET (who invented the request for comment process), is the key note speaker for ITS Day 2018.

2018: Staff member Doug Bowie creates Maker Space rooms that include among other things, 3-D printers, CNC milling machine, and a laser engraver.

2017: ITS alumna and owner of Tech Savvy Woman JJ DiGeronimo presents “Women in STEM – Strategies to Pace Your Professional Path” to an appreciative student audience.

2015: The School of ITS office moves to its new home in the Schoonover Center. Faculty have new offices and students enjoy state-of-the art labs.

2015: Information and Telecommunication Systems welcomes special guest speaker Gigi Sohn, who served as the Special Counsel for External Affairs for Federal Communications Commission (FCC) then Chairman Tom Wheeler. Sohn discussed the FCC's efforts to promote broadband, including the FCC's ongoing actions related to Network Neutrality.

2015: Information and Telecommunication Systems launches a 4 + 1 Program, enabling ITS undergraduates to earn a Master's degree with one year of additional study.

2010: The undergraduate degree program is named a Program of Excellence by ITERA.

2008: The MITS program is named a Program of Excellence by the International Telecommunications Education and Research Association.

2006: The name changes again to the J. Warren McClure School of Information and Telecommunication Systems, reflecting changes in the industry.

2001: Vinton Cerf, recognized as one of the founders of the Internet, speaks at Communication Week 2001.

1988: The School of Communication Management is renamed in honor of Gannett Co. executive J. Warren McClure, BS `40, in recognition of his continuing support for the program.

1986: The Center for Communication Management is designated a school within the College of Communication.

1981: Ohio University launches one of the nation's first undergraduate programs in communication systems management.

To Top